November 11, 2013

Eats- Pumpkin Spice Chickpeas

photo 3 (2)

Since it is still an appropriate time of year to eat all pumpkin food, I will continue to promote my new pumpkin recipes! Roasted chickpeas are one of my favorite snack, whether they are sweet or spicy. A warning- do not over eat! The first time I made this recipe, I sat down and ate the equivalent of a 20-oz jar of chickpeas without even noticing because they were so crunchy and delicious. These will swell up in your stomach, so go slowly.

Pre heat the oven to 375. Take three jars of chickpeas, and rinsed them well. Lay out on a cookie sheet and dry well with paper towels- do NOT skip this step!

photo 1 (2)

After you have dried your chickpeas well, toss in a large bowl with olive oil, a generous shake of pumpkin pie spice, salt and pepper. Roast for 20 minutes.

photo 2 (2)

After 20 minutes, take out chickpeas and toss with 3tbs of sugar. I have also seen recipes where they tossed them with pumpkin butter to make them even sweeter. Since I was just using what was around the house, I will have to try that for next time. Replace the cookie sheet in the oven and roast for an additional 20 minutes.

Roasted chickpeas are delicious on their own as a snack, or added to salads and soups.

Join the conversation! 1 Comment

  1. […] I garnished the soup with my pumpkin spice chick peas from this former recipe. […]

    Reply

Leave a comment

Category

Eats

Tags

,